Full protection for your documents

  • Rights allocation based on users and groups
  • Interaction with Microsoft Active Directory
  • Secure file and document storage
  • TLS encryption
  • Digital signatures

Any enterprise needs to protect documents against unauthorised access, copying, changes and deletions. FileDirector ensures comprehensive security for the documents it handles. To that end, the software makes use of a range of different mechanisms, working together across a number of levels.

The basic principle for all protection techniques is rights administration based on users and groups. To avoid unnecessary effort over this, FileDirector sources all the necessary information from the Active Directory of a Windows domain. Furthermore, FileDirector offers internal domains which provides you the chance of delegating administration independent from Active Directory. After this, the administrator defines access to filing cabinets, document types, documents and functions.

Actual access to the documents handled in FileDirector is protected via a whole raft of proven and standardised encryption techniques. These include TLS encryption along with the use of digital signatures and certificates.

The security concept is rounded out through intermeshing the Windows operating systems and FileDirector: Windows handles authentication, and FileDirector decides which documents the user is allowed to access.

FileDirector Security

You can define access rights using FileDirector at various levels: initially, the definition is whether the user can have general access. If an account or a group has access rights, then additional privileges can be allocated or withdrawn individual for file cabinets. Beyond that, access to particular document types within the filing cabinets can be permitted, allowing for the respective rights to be assigned in each instance.

There is also a facility even for filtering index fields in such a way that, depending on the content of the index field, access is only allowed to the corresponding documents. Scan profiles and stamps defined as comments can similarly be managed using rights, so that only authorised users and groups can have access. In the same way rights are defined for FileDirector BusinessProcessManagement for each process.

All user access to index data and the documents themselves are controlled by the FileDirector server, meaning that no user has direct access to the SQL or Oracle database or to the place where the data is stored. Documents and data can therefore not be changed or deleted outside FileDirector. There is a further advantage of this multi-level structure: the system runs robustly and requires minimal maintenance.

All activities within FileDirector can be recorded to provide a full history. In addition, the history for each document is recorded and can be viewed by administrators.

For even greater security of the data entrusted to FileDirector, there are options for replication for back-up purposes, and redundancy or distribution to branches: FileDirector server also has an option of exchanging documents with other FileDirector servers securely via TLS (https). The site replication module minimises downtimes through replication onto the back-up server or servers. This means that, if the worst should happen, you are not suddenly left without your valuable data.

Data volumes can also be distributed overnight from a central FileDirector server to branches (or vice versa). This increases speed of access to documents at sites where the data lines lack high-end capacity.

Rundumschutz für Ihre Dokumente

  • Vergabe von Rechten auf Basis von Benutzern und Gruppen
  • Zusammenspiel mit Microsoft Active Directory
  • Sichere Datei- und Dokumentenablage
  • TLS Verschlüsselung
  • Digitale Signaturen

Jedes Unternehmen muss Dokumente gegen unberechtigten Zugriff, Kopieren, Verändern oder Löschen schützen. FileDirector gewährleistet umfassende Sicherheit für die ihm anvertrauten Dokumente. Dazu bedient sich die Software einer ganzen Fülle verschiedener Mechanismen, die in mehreren Schichten verzahnt sind.

Grundlage aller Schutztechniken ist ein Verwalten von Rechten auf Basis von Benutzern und Gruppen. Um überflüssigen Aufwand zu vermeiden, bezieht FileDirector alle notwendigen Informationen aus dem Active Directory einer Windows-Domäne. Ebenso kann jedoch auch die eigene, integrierte Benutzerkontensteuerung verwendet werden und somit die Administration sehr einfach delegiert werden. Anschließend definiert der Administrator den Zugriff auf Aktenschränke, Dokumententypen, Dokumente und Funktionen.

Der eigentliche Zugriff auf die in FileDirector verwalteten Dokumente wird durch eine ganze Reihe an bewährten und standardisierten Verschlüsselungstechniken abgesichert. Dazu gehört eine Verschlüsselung nach TLS Standard genauso wie der Einsatz von digitalen Signaturen und Zertifikaten.

Abgerundet wird das Sicherheitskonzept durch das Verzahnen vom Windows-Betriebssystem und FileDirector: Windows sorgt für die Authentifizierung, FileDirector entscheidet, auf welche Dokumente der Benutzer zugreifen darf.

FileDirector Sicherheit

Zugriffsrechte legen Sie mit FileDirector auf verschiedenen Ebenen fest: Zuerst wird definiert, ob der Anwender generell zugreifen darf. Hat ein Konto oder eine Gruppe das Zugriffsrecht, dann können weitere Privilegien individuell für Aktenschränke vergeben oder entzogen werden. Darüber hinaus kann der Zugriff auf bestimmte Dokumententypen innerhalb der Aktenschränke erlaubt werden, für die jeweils unterschiedliche Rechte vergeben werden können.

Zusätzlich können selbst Indexfelder so gefiltert werden, dass abhängig vom Inhalt des Indexfeldes nur auf die entsprechenden Dokumente zugegriffen werden kann. Scanprofile und als Anmerkung definierte Stempel können ebenfalls über Rechte gesteuert werden, damit nur die befugten Benutzer und Gruppen darauf zugreifen können. Ebenso können, bei Verwendung des FileDirector GeschäftsProzessManagement, Rechte für einzelne Prozesse definiert werden.

Alle Benutzerzugriffe auf die Indexdaten und die Dokumente selbst werden vom FileDirector Server gesteuert, wobei kein Benutzer direkten Zugriff auf die SQL- oder Oracle-Datenbank oder den Speicherort der Daten hat. Dokumente und Daten können somit nicht außerhalb des FileDirector verändert oder gelöscht werden. Ein weiterer Vorteil dieses mehrschichtigen Aufbaus: Das System läuft stabil und bedarf kaum einer Wartung.

Alle Aktivitäten innerhalb des FileDirector können aufgezeichnet werden und eine komplette Historie liefern. Zusätzlich wird die Historie für jedes Dokument aufgezeichnet und kann von Administratoren eingesehen werden.

Für noch mehr Sicherheit der dem FileDirector anvertrauten Daten sorgen Replikation zu Backupzwecken, Redundanz oder das Verteilen auf Zweigstellen: FileDirector Server kann optional mit anderen FileDirector Servern Dokumente gesichert per TLS (https) austauschen. Das FileDirector SiteReplication-Modul minimiert Ihre Ausfallzeiten durch Replikation auf den oder die Backup-Server. Sie müssen somit also auch nicht im Schadensfall auf Ihre wertvollen Informationen verzichten.

Auch Massen von Daten können über Nacht von einem zentralen FileDirector-Server an Zweigstellen verteilt werden (oder umgekehrt). Dies erhöht die Zugriffsgeschwindigkeit auf Dokumente an Standorten, deren Datenleitungen etwas weniger leistungsstark sind.